

For Immediate Release

October 4, 2010

CONTACT: Jimmy Balwit, MS, Director of Scientific Communications International Society for Biological Therapy of Cancer PHONE: 414-271-2456 E-MAIL: jbalwit@isbtc.org

Leading Cancer Immunotherapy Scientists and Research Teams Honored at iSBTc 25th Annual Meeting

(WASHINGTON, D.C.) - The International Society for Biological Therapy of Cancer (iSBTc) was proud to honor a number of leading research teams and individual investigators who have made significant contributions to the field of cancer immunotherapy at its 25th Anniversary Reception that was held as part of its Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. The Award Ceremony took place Sunday, October 3 at the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History.

Six top research teams were recognized for their major contributions to research and clinical translation of cancer immunotherapy and biological therapy. These TEAM SCIENCE AWARDS were granted to the following research groups who have imagined, developed and sustained immunotherapy of cancer for more than a quarter of a century and continue to make seminal contributions to this field.

CYTOKINE WORKING GROUP

For their fruitful investigations in interleukin-2 (IL-2) and other immunostimulatory cytokines in the treatment of cancer, including renal cell carcinoma. Award accepted for the team by Michael B. Atkins, MD, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center.

LUDWIG INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH ~ Brussels Branch of Human Cancer Cell Genetics

For sustained efforts to describe molecular features and distribution of human tumor antigens that have led to the first target-specific clinical trial of vaccination with MAGE-3 peptides. Award accepted for the team by Pierre Coulie, MD, PhD and Pierre van der Bruggen, PhD.

NATIONAL CANCER INSTITUTE - FREDERICK ~ Biological Response Modifiers Program For ongoing clinical and basic research that has advanced the understanding of the biological response to cancer therapies designed to modulate the human immune response. This research included the first in-human studies of monoclonal antibodies and cytokines in cancer treatment and the development of interferon alpha for treatment of hairy cell leukemia, as well as adoptive immunotherapy with lymphokine activated killer (LAK) cells and anti-CD3-activated lymphocytes and investigational combinations of different biologics and chemotherapy for cancer treatment. Award accepted for the team by Robert H. Wiltrout, MD.

NATIONAL CANCER INSTITUTE ~ The Surgery Branch

For their pioneering role in the development of T cell therapies for patients with cancer. Their contributions include the translation of IL-2, LAK and tumor infiltrating lymphocytes (TIL), and the first-in-human application of genetic engineering. Over the last decade, their application of nonmyeloablative conditioning in combination with T cell adoptive transfer has resulted in objective clinical response rates of 50% to 70% in patients with metastatic melanoma and provided a platform for the application of genetically engineered T cells. Award accepted for the team by Steven A. Rosenberg, MD, PhD.

UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH

For groundbreaking work in cancer immunotherapy that has included seminal research with natural killer cells and dendritic cells, cytokines, including interferon, IL-2, tumor necrosis factor and IL-12, cancer vaccines, gene therapy, antibody therapy, immune trafficking, the tumor microenvironment and immune monitoring. Award accepted for the team by Ronald B. Herberman, MD.

UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON / FRED HUTCHINSON CANCER RESEARCH CENTER For fomenting and leading an ongoing revolution to demonstrate the feasibility and develop the enormous potential of T cell-based immunotherapies to treat and cure cancer, even in advanced stages. This team of scientists has achieved significant success in four areas: 1) T cell therapy, 2) vaccine therapy, 3) novel agents that augment T cell immunity, and 4) hematopoietic cell transplantation as T cell mediated immunotherapy. Award accepted for the team by Philip D. Greenberg, MD, Martin "Mac" Cheever, MD and Alexander Fefer, MD (posthumously).

In addition, the highly esteemed RICHARD V. SMALLEY, MD MEMORIAL AWARD was presented to James P. Allison, PhD of Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center at the gala. Dr. Allison pioneered the development of a promising monoclonal antibody-based treatment for melanoma known as CTLA-4 blockade.

The iSBTc EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE AWARD was given to six individuals, who, through exceptional service over the past 10-15 years, have contributed to the growth and development of the mission of the iSBTc to improve cancer patient outcomes by advancing the science, development and application of biological therapy/immunotherapy. These accomplished scientists included, Michael B. Atkins, MD (Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center), Robert O. Dillman, MD, FACP, (Hoag Cancer Center), Michael T. Lotze, MD (University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute), Steven A. Rosenberg, MD, PhD (National Cancer Institute - The Surgery Branch), Mario Sznol, MD (Yale University School of Medicine), and Robert H. Wiltrout, PhD (National Cancer Institute - CCR).

During the Award Ceremony the iSBTc was pleased to recognize the recent work of young investigators, who were selected by iSBTc leadership based on the quality of their research in their abstracts submitted for the 25th Annual Meeting. Recipients of these YOUNG INVESTIGATOR AWARDS include, Maria Libera Ascierto (National Institutes of Health, CC, DTM), Davide Bedognetti, MD (National Institutes of Health, CC, DTM), Arianna Calcinotto (San Raffaele Scientific Institute, Milan, Italy), Mitsugu Fujita, MD, PhD (University of Pittsburgh), Pawel

Muranski, MD (National Cancer Institute - CCR), Julie Urban, PhD (University of Pittsburgh), Michael A. Curran, PhD (Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center), Evripidis Lanitis (University of Pennsylvania, School of Medicine), Chao Ma, MS (California Institute of Technology), and Robbert Spaapen, PhD (University of Chicago).

The Society is committed to promoting the science and translation of cancer immunotherapy research that promises to improve the treatment and outcomes of patients with cancer. These awards are recognition of those research teams and individuals who are delivering on that great promise. With major developments and recent FDA approvals in the field of cancer immunotherapy, the iSBTc Annual Meeting and Associated Programs were exciting and attended by over 500 of the brightest minds in the field as scientists and clinicians from around the globe convened in Washington, D.C. to discuss the science and celebrate the 25th Anniversary of the iSBTc.

The International Society of Biological Therapy of Cancer (iSBTc) is a 501 (c) 3 non-profit organization of clinicians, researchers, students, post-doctoral fellows and allied health professionals dedicated to improving cancer treatment outcomes by advancing the development and application of biological therapy/immunotherapy through interaction, innovation, translation and leadership. For more information about the society, please visit www.isbtc.org.