iSBTc 24th Annual Meeting

Young Investigator Awards and Features

 iSBTc supports growth and achievement among young investigators in the field of cancer biologics. To this end, iSBTc has fostered the development of the Young Investigator Task Force whose mission is to promote the career development of young scientists by utilizing the core knowledge and experience of established iSBTc members, to ensure young scientists have a voice within the iSBTc and to provide young scientists access to the support and resources they require to succeed. In fulfillment of this mission, iSBTc offered two specialized opportunities for young investigators at the 24th Annual Meeting.

  • Abstract / Travel Awards
  • "Meet-the-Expert" Breakfasts
 Abstract Awards

In 2009, iSBTc offered 10 Young Investigator Awards recognizing excellence in oral abstract and poster presentations at the 24th Annual Meeting. To view the award recipients, click here.

"Meet-the-Expert" Breakfasts  

The iSBTc “Meet the Experts” Breakfasts were very well attended and focused on the unique issues related to the career development of young investigators.  Key leaders in the field facilitated small roundtable discussions on particular topics of interest.
Breakfast Topics and Experts

Developing Successful Collaborations

Leader:  Carl H. June, MD - University of Pennsylvania

Finding Your NicheMeet the Expert Session
Leader:  Jon M. Wigginton, MD - Bristol-Myers Squibb Company

Grant Writing
Leader:  Mary (Nora) Disis, MD - University of Washington

Publishing Papers
Leader:  Lieping Chen, MD, PhD - Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Translational Research
LeaderRobert L. Ferris, MD, PhD - University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute

Translational Research
LeaderCraig L. Slingluff, Jr., MD - University of Virginia